How to enjoy sunny Autumn day in Paris

Here comes the recipe:

  • Go see an Expo, preferably an exhibition that everyone is talking about. This way when your friends and colleagues ask what you did this weekend, you can casually say “on est allé voir l’expo…”, cite a name of the artist and drop a few comments about it. This weekend we went to see Mexique exhibition in Grand Palais, safe bet. I was bit disappointed that there was so few Frida Kahlo paintings but was happy to discover Diego Rivera and few others.
  • Take a stroll in a park, preferably Tuileries or Jardin de Luxembourg. If you go to Tuileries, have take away hot chocolate at Angelina, don’t be repelled by the constant queue, usually there is a cart outside that sells the famous hot chocolate. It’s like having liquid chocolate with a straw, yum yum. Sit in one of the green chairs and enjoy the sun, you know that next time you will see it, it will be February.
  • Wander more in the city and visit occasional book stores. For English books I’m fan of WHSmith which is conveniently just outside Tuileries. It’s not very hippy but I always go out with a new book (except this Saturday when my husband reminded me of all those books in our shelf that I didn’t read. Next time I go alone.)

Angelina

That was my Saturday, pretty good one. So that the weekend would not be perfect, today, just when I was having coffee with a friend in Odeon, it started raining cats and dogs. Having optimistic nature, I never carry umbrella with me just in case. Rain didn’t stop so we went to a tourist store to by umbrellas, but I thought it was a good idea to by a rain cape instead, Paris written all over it. It was not as cute and funny as I thought, it was actually pretty ridiculous, at least when I wore it in metro. Shame.

So there you go, DOs for a sunny Paris day and DONTs for a rainy Paris day! x

Louvre in the sunset

Leave a Reply

